Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT
News

winter semester 2011/12


Department Building Lifecycle Management
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Petra von Both

Englerstr. 7
Gebäude 20.40
D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel: +49 721 608 42166
Fax: +49 721 608 46980
info∂ifib uni-karlsruhe de

How to reach us
BLM Anfahrt

(zoom)

Projekte


Department

The Department of Building Lifecycle Management - BLM was spun off from the Institute for Industrial Building Construction (ifib) in early 2010 in the wake of the restructuring of the architecture faculty.

In research and teaching, the BLM focuses on the influence of information technologies on design, construction and use processes. The development, application and transfer of integrative computer-assisted planning and cooperation methods - in the sense of integrated building lifecycle management (BLM) - and the development and application of corresponding data models and IT tools are key departmental approaches.

The targets, firstly, are the development of methods and tools to increase project and process quality as well as planning efficiency, and, secondly, with respect to sustainable, goal- and requirement-oriented planning to improve the quality of the product or design object itself over its entire lifecycle.

The interdisciplinary employee structure of the BLM enables the coupling of integrative systemic approaches with detailed specialist knowledge.

BLM diagram


With the increasing complexity of the problem area, the integration and creation of compatibility is becoming an increasingly important factor. Especially in the context of growing spatially-distributed cooperation, cross-discipline or cross-application interaction and integration are becoming of core importance for the success of construction-related cooperation.

The logistical optimization of the cooperation through the IT-based linking of the participating systems, actors, resources and processes represents a core approach to increasing overall process transparency and efficiency and to improving sustainable planning, construction, and use quality.

Building Lifecycle Management (BLM) implies the integration of all processes, skills and information created in the system lifecycle at the object/system and process levels. BLM is therefore not to be understood as an IT solution, but as a strategy that is supplemented by appropriate methodological and organizational concepts. Integral planning approaches serve as a model and methodological basis in this.

The added value of this integrated approach lies in its optimization potential at the overall process level. The development of methods and IT tools in the BLM area will therefore most likely lead to the creation of significant added value for the construction industry. In addition, its application will enable current planning methodology and execution practices to be improved.  As a result, the quality of the building stock with respect to sustainability will be increased.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Fachgebiet Building Lifecycle Management
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Petra von Both

Englerstr. 7
Gebäude 20.40
D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel: +49 721 608 42166
Fax: +49 721 608 46980
infoNrw6∂blm ieb kit edu

Anfahrt

Anfahrt

Projekte


Fachgebiet

Das Fachgebiet Building Lifecycle Management - BLM ging im Frühjahr 2010 im Rahmen einer Umstrukturierung der Architekturfakultät aus dem Institut für Industrielle Bauproduktion (ifib) hervor.


Das BLM setzt sich in Forschung und Lehre mit dem Einfluss von Informationstechnologien auf Planungs-, Bau- und Nutzungsprozesse auseinander. Die Erarbeitung, Anwendung und Vermittlung integrativer rechnergestützten Planungs- und Kooperationsmethoden – im Sinne eines integrierten Building Lifecycle Managements (BLM) - sowie die Entwicklung und Anwendung entsprechender Datenmodelle und IT-Werkzeuge sind zentrale Ansatzpunkte des Fachgebiets.


Zielsetzungen sind zum einen die Entwicklung von Methoden und Werkzeugen zur Erhöhung der Projekt- und Prozessqualität sowie zur Steigerung der Planungseffizienz. Zum anderen geht es im Sinne einer nachhaltigen, ziel- und anforderungsorientierten Planung um eine Verbesserung der Qualität des Produktes bzw. Planungsgegenstandes selbst über seinen gesamten Lebenszyklus.


Die interdisziplinäre Mitarbeiterstruktur des BLM ermöglicht dabei die Kopplung systemisch-integrativer Ansätze mit detailliertem Fachwissen.

 

Building Lifecycle Management
 

 

BLM Diagram


Bei steigender Komplexität des Problemfeldes werden Integration und die Schaffung von Kompa- tibilität zu einem immer wichtigeren Faktor. Gerade im Kontext wachsender, räumlich verteilter Zusammenarbeit wird der Aspekt der fach- bzw. applikationsübergreifenden Interaktion und Integration zum zentralen Punkt für das Gelingen baubezogener Kooperationen.


Die logistische Optimierung der Zusammenarbeit mittels informationstechnischer Vernetzung der beteiligten Systeme und Akteure, Ressourcen und Prozesse stellt dabei einen zentralen Ansatz zur Steigerung der Transparenz und Effizienz im Gesamtprozess und zur Verbesserung der nach- haltigen Planungs-, Bau-, und Nutzungsqualität dar.


Building Lifecycle Management (BLM) impliziert die Integration aller im Systemlebenszyklus entstehenden Prozesse, Kompetenzen und Informationen auf den Ebenen Objekt/System und Prozess. BLM ist somit nicht als IT-Lösung, sondern als eine Strategie zu verstehen - es wird durch geeignete methodische und organisatorische Konzepte ergänzt. Die Ansätze der Integralen Planung dienen dabei als Leitbild und methodische Basis.


Der Mehrwert dieses integrierten Ansatzes liegt in seinem Optimierungspotential auf der Ebene des Gesamtprozesses. Es ist so davon auszugehen, dass durch die Entwicklung von Methoden und IT-Werkzeugen im Bereich BLM ein erheblicher Mehrwert für das Bauwesen geschaffen werden kann. Zudem ermöglicht seine Anwendung eine Verbesserung der derzeitigen Planungsmethodik und Ausführungspraxis.  Somit kann eine Steigerung der Qualität des Gebäudebestandes im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit erreicht werden.