Building Lifecycle Management

Building Information Modeling - Potentials, Barriers and an Action Plan

Analysis of the potentials and obstacles in the implementation of the integrated planning methodology, Building Information Modeling or BIM, in the German construction industry and the derivation of an action plan for the improvement of the competitive s

The built environment is the largest economic capital of the industrialized nations. Although the construction industry operates efficiently and effectively in some areas, those involved in the construction processes still cannot adequately link their services either in a multidisciplinary (horizontal integration) or in a lifecycle-encompassing manner (vertical integration). Because of this problem, high deficits have arisen in planning, economic and environmental implementation, and in the value-creation chain in construction. The aim of the proposed project is to promote this integration through a comprehensive lifecycle planning method based on digital product data modeling, and to enable an improvement in the competitive position of the German construction industry in a global context. This planning environment is based on the principle of integral planning, and with respect to software on the implementation of the concepts of Building Information Modeling (BIM).

The project analyses, identifies and specifies the BIM problem context. To this end, the current procedures for the planning, execution and use of buildings are examined with respect to their processing and handling. Existing problem areas are identified and placed in context with the method of building information modeling. At the same time, a comparison is made of the situation in Germany with international projects and their execution with BIM. The problem areas, issues and possible barriers are identified based on the actual states and potentials analysed here. A study is also carried out into the capabilities of already-available and under-development BIM software with respect to systematic, user-oriented integrated planning methodology across the entire lifecycle. The study results represent a target-group-specific analysis of the added value of BIM in construction. The identified potentials and barriers of the BIM method serve as the basis for the creation of a differentiated action plan for construction in Germany. Based on the target-group analysis, specific concepts and strategies are elaborated for the three software fields of action - laws, rules, and contracts.

Summary english

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Building Information Modeling - Potentiale, Hemmnisse, Handlungsplan

Analyse der Potentiale und Hemmnisse bei der Umsetzung der integrierten Planungsmethodik Building Information Modeling - BIM - in der deutschen Baubranche und Ableitung eines Handlungsplanes zur Verbesserung der Wettbewerbssituation

 

Die gebaute Umwelt ist das größte ökonomische Kapital der Industrienationen. Obwohl die Baubranche in einzelnen Bereichen hochwertig und effektiv arbeitet, können die an den Bauprozessen Beteiligten aber bis heute ihre Leistungen weder fachüber-greifend (horizontale Integration) noch lebenszyklusumfassend (vertikale Integration) in ausreichendem Maße miteinander verknüpfen. Aus diesem Mangel ergeben sich bisher im hohen Maße Defizite in der Planung, in der ökonomischen und ökologischen Umsetzung und in der Wertschöpfungskette im Bauwesen. Das Ziel des beantragten Vorhabens ist es, diese Integration durch eine lebenszyklusumfassende Planungsmethode auf Grundlage der digitalen Produktdatenmodellierung zu fördern und eine Verbesserung der Wettbewerbssituation der deutschen Baubranche im globalen Kontext zu ermöglichen. Diese Planungsumgebung basiert dabei methodisch auf dem Prinzip der Integralen Planung und softwaretechnisch auf der Umsetzung der Konzepte des Building Information Modeling (BIM).


 

 

Das Projekt analysiert, identifiziert und spezifiziert dabei den Problemkontext BIM. Hierfür werden die derzeitigen Abläufe zur Planung, Ausführung und Nutzung von baulichen Anlagen hinsichtlich ihrer Prozessabwicklung und Handhabung untersucht. Bestehende Problempunkte werden identifiziert und mit der Methode des Building Information Modelings in Kontext gestellt. Gleichzeitig wird ein Vergleich des in Deutschland existierenden Sachverhalts mit internationalen Projekten und deren Abwicklung mit BIM angestellt. Aufbauend auf den hier analysierten Ist-Zuständen und Potentialen werden die Problempunkte, Fragestellungen und möglichen Hemmnisse herausgearbeitet. Ebenso erfolgt eine Untersuchung der zur Verfügung stehenden und in Entwicklung befindlichen BIM-Software hinsichtlich ihrer Fähigkeiten einer durchgängigen anforderungsorientierten integrativen Planungsmethodik über den gesamten Lebenszyklus. Die Untersuchungsergebnisse stellen eine zielgruppenspezifische Analyse des Mehrwerts von BIM im Bauwesen dar. Die  identifizierte Potentiale und Hemmnisse der BIM Methode dienen als Grundlage für die Erstellung eines differenzierten Handlungsplanes für das Bauwesen in Deutschland. Bezugnehmend auf die Zielgruppenanalyse werden für die drei Handlungsfelder Software - Gesetze, Normen, Vertragswesen - Ausbildung spezifische Konzepte und Strategien ausgearbeitet.

Kurzbericht deutsch
Summary english

Abschlussbericht (deutsch)